Psalm 119:17-32

Psalm 119 – GIMEL, DALETH

GIMEL
Previously the psalmist meditated in God’s precepts, here we see him meditating in God’s statutes, and taking delight in doing God’s will. He is counseled by God’s testimony, meaning he uses the word of God as guidance for his life and takes joy in doing so, yet he is asking God to take this feeling further! He wants to look on God’s word with a sense of wonder despite the hardships he has faced (v.23). He draws nearer to God instead of pulling away. When things go wrong in life, one of the responses we may have is to blame God. Instead we need to realize that He only works for our good (Rom 8:28), and that when facing hardship we should run toward Him and bring our struggles to Him in prayer, not walk away and blame. We need to joyfully keep our eyes on Him, and he will bless us for it in His own way.

When you are truly seeking the Lord, there is no half-ditch effort way to go about it. You must seek Him with your whole heart, you can’t pick and choose what parts of His word to follow, you must learn and follow all of His rules to live a truly blessed life in Him. You must take time to seek Him in His word, and truly think on His path for your life, committing His word to memory so that you can use it to further your life toward Him, and trust Him to be your shield against everything He doesn’t want for your life.

DALETH
The psalmist was heavy of heart, facing a situation in which he had to choose God’s way, or a way outside of scripture. His response to this challenge was to pray to God for help to better understand His word so it could be used to help in his decision making. Knowing God’s word and thinking on how it applied to the choices at hand, he was able to choose the right way. Facing my own temptations, I am reminded how much I constantly need intervention from the Lord to help me, it’s only by the grace of God I will be able to live the life I should be living, because my flesh is weak and satan can be tempting and sly.

Psalm 119:17-32

GIMEL.
17 Deal bountifully with thy servant, that I may live, and keep thy word. 18 Open thou mine eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of thy law. 19 I am a stranger in the earth: hide not thy commandments from me. 20 My soul breaketh for the longing that it hath unto thy judgments at all times. 21 Thou hast rebuked the proud that are cursed, which do err from thy commandments. 22 Remove from me reproach and contempt; for I have kept thy testimonies. 23 Princes also did sit and speak against me: but thy servant did meditate in thy statutes. 24 Thy testimonies also are my delight and my counsellors.
DALETH.
25 My soul cleaveth unto the dust: quicken thou me according to thy word. 26 I have declared my ways, and thou heardest me: teach me thy statutes. 27 Make me to understand the way of thy precepts: so shall I talk of thy wondrous works. 28 My soul melteth for heaviness: strengthen thou me according unto thy word. 29 Remove from me the way of lying: and grant me thy law graciously. 30 I have chosen the way of truth: thy judgments have I laid before me. 31 I have stuck unto thy testimonies: O Lord, put me not to shame. 32 I will run the way of thy commandments, when thou shalt enlarge my heart.
Leave a Reply

