Psalm 119:49-64

Psalm 119 – ZAIN, CHETH

ZAIN
Despite, or perhaps because of negative things afflicting the psalmist, he turns his trust and hope towards God’s word. The word of God brings him comfort and life when the world aims to deride and hurt him. There is a lot of emphasis being put on how we can look to God when trouble seeks us out, and not only find answers in his law, but comfort and life no matter what we are facing.

CHETH
These verses show that the psalmist took the time to reflect on his life, and the choices he has made, and has made a conscious effort to change the way he thinks and acts to follow in the footsteps of the Lord. He didn’t wait until he was on his deathbed later in life after living it up, but “made haste”, once that realization hit of what life with Christ offered, his life changed from selfish to selfless in the word of God. Is “quitting the world” to live in God’s word like quitting smoking or some other addiction? The psalmist went “cold turkey”, making a full and complete life change to live vertically (in alignment with God), not horizontally (in alignment with earth/humanity). God doesn’t want us to have one foot on the world, and one towards heaven, He demands no less than our whole heart. Living in the flesh and in sin isn’t something we should try to “slowly wean ourselves off of” The world, and satan have such an alluring pull we would likely be sucked right back in! We need to live in the text, and gain the knowledge and strength God’s word gives us to help us fight those worldly urges that draw us away from God.

The verses 61-64 have a different feeling to them than most of the others within this psalm. The psalmist now sees himself as a part of the Christian brotherhood, instead of alone as one man vs. The world as other verses seem to lean more toward. I wonder at the significance of him getting up at midnight, was he woken by some turmoil, or did he even sleep? Did God give him peace to know his prayers had been answered, the reason for his thanks? When I have prayed in earnest to God for things in the past and my emotions run high, I feel a great sense of relief after laying it all out for the Lord to handle, and if it was a trouble keeping me up I am finally able to have a good sleep after.

Psalm 119:49-64

ZAIN.
49 Remember the word unto thy servant, upon which thou hast caused me to hope. 50 This is my comfort in my affliction: for thy word hath quickened me. 51 The proud have had me greatly in derision: yet have I not declined from thy law. 52 I remembered thy judgments of old, O Lord; and have comforted myself. 53 Horror hath taken hold upon me because of the wicked that forsake thy law. 54 Thy statutes have been my songs in the house of my pilgrimage. 55 I have remembered thy name, O Lord, in the night, and have kept thy law. 56 This I had, because I kept thy precepts.
CHETH.
57 Thou art my portion, O Lord: I have said that I would keep thy words. 58 I entreated thy favour with my whole heart: be merciful unto me according to thy word. 59 I thought on my ways, and turned my feet unto thy testimonies. 60 I made haste, and delayed not to keep thy commandments. 61 The bands of the wicked have robbed me: but I have not forgotten thy law. 62 At midnight I will rise to give thanks unto thee because of thy righteous judgments. 63 I am a companion of all them that fear thee, and of them that keep thy precepts. 64 The earth, O Lord, is full of thy mercy: teach me thy statutes.

Leave a Reply

