Psalm 119:81-96

Psalm 119 – CAPH, LAMED

CAPH
Despite not seeing an end to his suffering in sight “How many are my days?” (v.84) i.e., How long will I live like this. The psalmist is able to keep trust in the Lord, knowing that He is faithful, and will not provide greater challenge than we can face. The psalmist doesn’t ask “will” but “when thou execute judgement”, knowing that in God’s time he can live in faith that it will be done. God won’t challenge me more than I can handle, I just have to remember that when times get tough to look at those times as opportunities and not hurdles, they are chances to grow closer to God if I have the proper outlook and faith.

It really looks like the psalmist has suffered harsh persecution to the point of near-death, yet he still has complete faith in the sureness of the Lord’s commandments and implied protection. Despite his torment, he keeps true to God’s laws and word. It is difficult to stay strong and true to your beliefs in the face of adversity, it reminds me of a quote I heard in high school “what is right, isn’t always popular, and what is popular, isn’t always right.” We are so blessed to worship freely in our country, but to a lesser extent we still face scorn, peer pressure to conform, and other difficulties that make it difficult to stay true to our faith. I know these challenges pulled me off of God’s path in the past. Satan is sly, and it isn’t just a gun to our heads that will be the test and proving grounds to see if we stay true to the Lord or falter, there are the little things we also need to be on guard for.

LAMED
God exists outside of time, he knows our past, present, and future and the battle between the Lord and satan has already been fought and won. There is no uncertainty in the Lord, He is ‘omniscient, omnipresent, and omnipotent’.  “Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will not pass away” (Matt 24:35). God is unchanging, and we can trust and rely on Him in all things, unlike friends, family, counselors/therapists, there are no double standards, hypocrisy or failed promises with God. There’s a good worship song I enjoy. “Unchanging God” by Elevation Worship that encompasses this sentiment “…faithful in the midst of hurt and pain, You are faithful. Your promises remain forever and ever, You wont fade away, You never change, You’re unchanging God…”

Psalm 119:81-96

CAPH.
81 My soul fainteth for thy salvation: but I hope in thy word. 82 Mine eyes fail for thy word, saying, When wilt thou comfort me? 83 For I am become like a bottle in the smoke; yet do I not forget thy statutes. 84 How many are the days of thy servant? when wilt thou execute judgment on them that persecute me? 85 The proud have digged pits for me, which are not after thy law. 86 All thy commandments are faithful: they persecute me wrongfully; help thou me. 87 They had almost consumed me upon earth; but I forsook not thy precepts. 88 Quicken me after thy lovingkindness; so shall I keep the testimony of thy mouth.
LAMED.
89 For ever, O Lord, thy word is settled in heaven. 90 Thy faithfulness is unto all generations: thou hast established the earth, and it abideth. 91 They continue this day according to thine ordinances: for all are thy servants. 92 Unless thy law had been my delights, I should then have perished in mine affliction. 93 I will never forget thy precepts: for with them thou hast quickened me. 94 I am thine, save me; for I have sought thy precepts. 95 The wicked have waited for me to destroy me: but I will consider thy testimonies. 96 I have seen an end of all perfection: but thy commandment is exceeding broad.

2 Replies to “Psalm 119:81-96”

Leave a Reply

