Psalm 119:97-112

Psalm 119 – MEM, NUN

MEM
The psalmist has devoted himself and his life to the study of God’s word, it is the highest in his heart as we see the devotion and love he has for it. It is the sword and shield against those who come against him, as God will always get the upper hand, simply being an enemy of the psalmist is also being an enemy of God, not a wise choice. He has all the wisdom and knowledge of God for depending on His word for the answers, and is wiser in that than any academic. And despite the sentiment that ‘with age comes wisdom’ living his life for God and following Gods laws is the wisest choice, not something solely possible through age. I have a desire in my heart to live in God’s word, but have to fight other desires daily to make sure I dedicate the time, to make sure I keep the right focus, and to avoid distraction and detraction from it.

NUN
The word of God not only shows us the way we should live our life in the long run (the path to Him), but provides us guidance in our day-to-day as well (the lamp at our feet) v.105, so that we can avoid stumbling while traversing the road less travelled (Matt 7:14). I love v. 105 and the songs that have been made from its inspiration. We need to remember that no matter what, God is right there alongside us and He will gently guide us along His safe road if we let Him.

The use of “heritage” (v.111) in how the psalmist has adopted the testimonies of God is interesting. When I think of heritage, it is to refer to things of the past, something cultural or genetic passed on from a previous generation, for the psalmist to say he has taken Gods word as a heritage for the future “forever” he has in essence said he has inherited it, like all who follow God can do and inherit the kingdom of God (1 Cor 6:10-11). Simply identifying as a Christian isn’t enough, you need to learn and grow, walk the walk and talk the talk, becoming closer in relationship to God through this.

Psalm 119:97-112

MEM.
97 O how love I thy law! it is my meditation all the day. 98 Thou through thy commandments hast made me wiser than mine enemies: for they are ever with me. 99 I have more understanding than all my teachers: for thy testimonies are my meditation. 100 I understand more than the ancients, because I keep thy precepts. 101 I have refrained my feet from every evil way, that I might keep thy word. 102 I have not departed from thy judgments: for thou hast taught me. 103 How sweet are thy words unto my taste! yea, sweeter than honey to my mouth! 104 Through thy precepts I get understanding: therefore I hate every false way.
NUN.
105 Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path. 106 I have sworn, and I will perform it, that I will keep thy righteous judgments. 107 I am afflicted very much: quicken me, O Lord, according unto thy word. 108 Accept, I beseech thee, the freewill offerings of my mouth, O Lord, and teach me thy judgments. 109 My soul is continually in my hand: yet do I not forget thy law. 110 The wicked have laid a snare for me: yet I erred not from thy precepts. 111 Thy testimonies have I taken as an heritage for ever: for they are the rejoicing of my heart. 112 I have inclined mine heart to perform thy statutes alway, even unto the end.
Leave a Reply

