Psalm 119:113-128

Psalm 119 – SAMECH, AIN

SAMECH
In the ESV translation it says “double-minded” instead of “vain”. God doesn’t want us to be luke-warm in our faith to Him (1 Kings 18:21, Rev 3:15-16). I heard a message recently that said this: “As a gardener you can’t just love the flowers, you have to hate the weeds”. This seems to be counter to the idea that as Christians we are to love everyone, but perhaps this means we are to still pray for and love the people, but not associate with the evil they do. Love the person, hate the sin. I need to continue to adjust my life and thoughts to be Godly-minded, it is easy to slip into ways of acting and thinking that are not biblical. It is difficult to take a stand for what is right in the word of God because of fear of backlash, so I need to learn to get past that fear and trust in the Lord.

AIN
Verses 127 & 128 repeat from prior verses (72, 104) “The law is better than thousands of gold and silver pieces” “…therefore I hate every false way” When things are repeated in the Bible, it is for a reason and should be taken note of (God wouldn’t let His book repeat without a purpose!). Earthly riches and false ways are things we should turn our backs on, instead focusing on God. I need to remember not to force my will upon situations, instead when I should be letting the Lord’s will work through me and in my life. How silly is it to try and manage a situation towards Gods will. He doesn’t need our help in His plan, we need His help!

Psalm 119:113-128

SAMECH.
113 I hate vain thoughts: but thy law do I love. 114 Thou art my hiding place and my shield: I hope in thy word. 115 Depart from me, ye evildoers: for I will keep the commandments of my God. 116 Uphold me according unto thy word, that I may live: and let me not be ashamed of my hope. 117 Hold thou me up, and I shall be safe: and I will have respect unto thy statutes continually. 118 Thou hast trodden down all them that err from thy statutes: for their deceit is falsehood. 119 Thou puttest away all the wicked of the earth like dross: therefore I love thy testimonies. 120 My flesh trembleth for fear of thee; and I am afraid of thy judgments.
AIN.
121 I have done judgment and justice: leave me not to mine oppressors. 122 Be surety for thy servant for good: let not the proud oppress me. 123 Mine eyes fail for thy salvation, and for the word of thy righteousness. 124 Deal with thy servant according unto thy mercy, and teach me thy statutes. 125 I am thy servant; give me understanding, that I may know thy testimonies. 126 It is time for thee, Lord, to work: for they have made void thy law. 127 Therefore I love thy commandments above gold; yea, above fine gold. 128 Therefore I esteem all thy precepts concerning all things to be right; and I hate every false way.
Leave a Reply

