Psalm 119:145-160

Psalm 119 – KOPH, RESH

KOPH
The psalmist shows his reliance on the Lord here with the “dawn to dusk” approach to seeking God, he seeks Him every waking hour “hoping in His words” and “meditating on His promise”. I need to try not to seek the Lord only when it is convenient for me, but instead remember to seek Him in all those times in-between, for all sorts of reasons, not just in need.

The psalmist is able to accept that his persecutors are nearby without fear, because he knows the Lord is with him, and that God’s word which he follows is righteous and eternal without change. There is a conviction and trust here in the word and presence of God that I need to make sure isn’t missing out of my life, because oftentimes things happen and I am worried or afraid…but I have no need to be.

RESH
Those wicked people (v.155) are not so far from God that they can’t be saved, it is still possible, even those who persecute Christians can be brought into the family of God. Consider Saul of Tarsus who chose to follow Christ, and became the disciple Paul (Acts 9). Sometimes when you fail in your walk with God it may seem that your transgression was too great, and you no longer deserve to stand in front of the Lord. I know I have felt that way in the past, but it is a lie perpetrated by the enemy to keep us from Gods grace and forgiveness. There is no sin so great that God can’t forgive, allowing us back into his flock.

We see here in black and white that the Bible claims (therefore God claims) the complete truth of the word, and the unchanging nature of God’s law. There isn’t much, if any room for misinterpretation. If we take the full bible as truth, than this writing needs to be taken at face value, and trust that all the promises we rely on for salvation and faith we have in the Lord is well placed. Some days I doubt my value and worth, and need to remember that the Lord is good, and I am made perfect in His sight, and all my perceived shortcomings are only just that, an earthly perception based on society, and not a higher power.

Psalm 119:145-160

KOPH.
145 I cried with my whole heart; hear me, O Lord: I will keep thy statutes. 146 I cried unto thee; save me, and I shall keep thy testimonies. 147 I prevented the dawning of the morning, and cried: I hoped in thy word. 148 Mine eyes prevent the night watches, that I might meditate in thy word. 149 Hear my voice according unto thy lovingkindness: O Lord, quicken me according to thy judgment. 150 They draw nigh that follow after mischief: they are far from thy law. 151 Thou art near, O Lord; and all thy commandments are truth. 152 Concerning thy testimonies, I have known of old that thou hast founded them for ever.
RESH.
153 Consider mine affliction, and deliver me: for I do not forget thy law. 154 Plead my cause, and deliver me: quicken me according to thy word. 155 Salvation is far from the wicked: for they seek not thy statutes. 156 Great are thy tender mercies, O Lord: quicken me according to thy judgments. 157 Many are my persecutors and mine enemies; yet do I not decline from thy testimonies. 158 I beheld the transgressors, and was grieved; because they kept not thy word. 159 Consider how I love thy precepts: quicken me, O Lord, according to thy lovingkindness. 160 Thy word is true from the beginning: and every one of thy righteous judgments endureth for ever.

Leave a Reply

