Psalm 119:161-176

Psalm 119 – SCHIN, TAU

SCHIN
The repetition of v. 163 struck me, for the psalmist to say both “hate” and “abhor” it provides a stronger sense of just how strong that hatred is.  Abhor is defined as “regard with disgust and hatred”, or “to shudder away from”. This level of double hatred provides a gauge by which to measure its counter, the love the psalmist has in God’s law. The next verse (164) is also repetitive in the act of praying seven times in the day. The number seven is a recurring theme in the bible; I wonder if this parallels the story of creation?

A search of verses that include the number seven comes up with:

  • The story of Noah in the ark before the flood, and remaining in the ark after the dove was sent out, as well as the amount of ceremonially clean animals on the ark
  • Mourning for Jacob
  • The sympathy for Job
  • The plague of bloody waters
  • Egyptian famine
  • Israelites encircling Jericho
  • Passover
  • Feast of Tabernacles

I want to be able to have the dedication, conviction, and knowledge that I am properly serving God, and respond as I should to the situations of life, abhorring the evil and reveling in the good.

TAU
These verses don’t just encourage us to praise and share the word of God, each verse is linked back to God’s law/commandments/precepts, we don’t therefore just worship Him as a baseless gesture, we worship Him because we also follow His word. Simply “attending” a church isn’t enough, you also have to live the life. So many Christians may talk the talk, but being one who also walks the walk is who I want to be.

“For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God” (Rom 3:23). It isn’t possible to be the perfect Christian, but that doesn’t mean we can’t continue to strive to do and be the best we can be, and seek God’s grace and forgiveness when we fall short. It is easy to want to give up and throw in the towel when sin enters our life and we realize that we have failed Him. That is what satan wants us to do! It is more difficult, and eternally rewarding to bow ourselves before God and receive His grace that is freely offered.

Psalm 119:161-176

SCHIN.
161 Princes have persecuted me without a cause: but my heart standeth in awe of thy word. 162 I rejoice at thy word, as one that findeth great spoil. 163 I hate and abhor lying: but thy law do I love. 164 Seven times a day do I praise thee because of thy righteous judgments. 165 Great peace have they which love thy law: and nothing shall offend them. 166  Lord, I have hoped for thy salvation, and done thy commandments. 167 My soul hath kept thy testimonies; and I love them exceedingly. 168 I have kept thy precepts and thy testimonies: for all my ways are before thee.
TAU.
169 Let my cry come near before thee, O Lord: give me understanding according to thy word. 170 Let my supplication come before thee: deliver me according to thy word. 171 My lips shall utter praise, when thou hast taught me thy statutes. 172 My tongue shall speak of thy word: for all thy commandments are righteousness. 173 Let thine hand help me; for I have chosen thy precepts. 174 I have longed for thy salvation, O Lord; and thy law is my delight. 175 Let my soul live, and it shall praise thee; and let thy judgments help me. 176 I have gone astray like a lost sheep; seek thy servant; for I do not forget thy commandments.

Leave a Reply

